krotholidays.blogg.se

Good am mac miller soundcloud
Good am mac miller soundcloud







Good am mac miller soundcloud mac#

Many would choose the dark-night-of-the-soul odyssey Faces, one of the best mixtapes this decade or Watching Movies With the Sound Off as the first demonstration of what Mac Miller could really do even GO:OD AM or The Divine Feminine as his most joyful celebrations of what music can do. My sneaking feeling from the first listen, one which blossomed into a certainty recently, was that I was hearing an artist hitting his peak. Yes, there are lines in "Self Care" and "So It Goes" that are unbearably sad now, but these were beautiful and powerful lines before their writer died. Yes, songs like "Dunno" and "Wings", which I previously thought of as lesser, wormed their way into my subconscious, but repeat listens probably would have done that anyway. I loved this funky, funny, sad, silly album from the second I heard it and my feelings didn't massively change when Mac Miller died. All were always there if you cared to listen. The open-hearted earnestness, stunning production, the way he could share his vision with - and expand it to include - an incredible lineup of featured artists.

good am mac miller soundcloud

If there's one constant across Mac's discography it's that he wore his heart on his sleeve, whether that was the love-and-sex-struck The Divine Feminine or his darkest suicidal ideations on Faces. But who knew at the time? To be crystal clear, there's no hidden vista of talent that was only exposed to the world after Mac Miller's death, no Grammy-worthy performative reflection on death that could only fully take shape after its maker had ceased living. Some would have been happy to argue that he should relapse to drugs so he could make great music again - I remember jubilant comments like 'DRUG MAC IS BACK' greeting the release of "Self Care", a song Mac Miller wrote about his efforts to want to stay alive.

good am mac miller soundcloud good am mac miller soundcloud

The unspoken understanding amongst Mac fans was that his best work was created heavily on drugs, like Layne Staley's or Trent Reznor's or a long line of others before him. The growing introversion and reluctance to deal with the outside world on Watching Movies With the Sound Off, an obsession with writing about himself overdosing over and over again on Faces, a bone-chilling verse where he imagines his mother getting the news on "Perfect Circle / Godspeed". I only became a fan in the handful of months leading up to Swimming's release and even I couldn't say I was surprised at the cause of death. Mac Miller's death was tragic and unnecessary and could have been avoided. Review Summary: I ain't asking why no more / nowadays all I do is shine, take a breath and ease my mind / it ain't 2009 no more / yeah I know what's behind that door







Good am mac miller soundcloud